Research Guide dealing with Government and Administration in the Batavian-French period 1795-1813

In 1795, the Republic of the Seven United Netherlands came to an end. After a transitional period that lasted from 1795 to 1798, a total of five different polities came in force in the years until 1813. In each period, the aim was to establish a completely new structure for the national – and occasionally also the provincial – government and judicial system. The institutions were given new names and sometimes entrusted with different duties.

The guide:

Read on in the introduction.